FAQs

Is the gîte just for classic car owners?
No - guests with hire cars or “normal” cars are just as welcome at Bonnes Routes. We also welcome people on two wheels (motorised or otherwise). The facilities we have available can be used by everyone, but are particularly targeted at visitors with a treasured car who need to provide some tender loving care to it whilst driving through France. We have tried to create the perfect place for people for whom driving IS the holiday. We get it!

I have a soft top on my classic car which has seen better days so isn’t exactly waterproof! Can I park under cover?
We are aiming to cover the parking area in 2020 to provide added protection. However, if you need to put your car under cover before this is in place we can rearrange our own storage to accommodate your car in the barns. We also have lightweight car covers to keep the dust off.

I’ve never driven my classic car outside of the UK. I’m not sure that a) I’ll get there and b) how easy it is!
While we can’t guarantee the reliability of your car, make sure it’s been recently serviced and use it regularly for a few weeks before hand to shake out any potential problems. Cars are made to be driven and it won’t make any special memories stuck in a garage! It’s really easy driving in France, with much less traffic than the UK, and much better roads. It’s far less stressful for you and your car – you may get better mpg too! Right hand drive really isn’t an issue as there is so little traffic and some beautiful straight roads where you can see for miles ahead. If you’re on your own and are planning on using the Autoroutes, you can get a Liber-t tag to save you having to get out of your car at the tolls. It’s worth it’s weight in gold! So … what are you waiting for?!

Can we make the journey from the UK in a day, or is it better to do it in stages?
We are an eight hour drive from Calais using the Autoroutes (80mph), so it is easily possible to drive here in a day (especially if you share the driving). If you want to use the country roads and routes nationale for a more leisurely journey, an overnight stop is recommended. We can recommend some routes if you want to do this so let us know and we’ll help you out.

What nationalities do you cater for?
Everyone is welcome at Bonnes Routes, wherever they come from. Being just over half way down the map of France we are ideally placed for people travelling from the UK, Holland, Belgium or Northern France to the South of France or Spain; or from Italy to the west coast of France (and the opposite directions). We speak English, passable French, and where we have guests of other nationalities our friends Google and Larousse will help us translate guides, instructions and other information into other languages for guests. But let’s face it …. people who love cars and love driving all speak the same language!!

Can you accommodate larger groups?
The gîte is really set up for two couples in comfort. There is an additional day bed in the Chambre Panoramique, which could cater for another person or two if you are REALLY good friends. But as luck would have it, we have a French neighbours who owns a gîte (you pass it as you drive into Bonhur), so if there are a few of you travelling you may want to try a double booking of both properties. They have private car parking and good security too. Let us know if you’re interested in this option when you enquire, and we’ll do the leg work for you to check availability and pricing.

Is it possible to get my classic car shipped down to you and fly in rather than drive?
Absolutely. We can take collection of your car when its convenient for you, store it in the barn until you arrive. We can pick you up at any of the regional airports – Limoges or Brive (the closest airports), Bergerac or Bordeaux.

Do you take bookings for single nights or part weeks?
Due to the work involved in cleaning up for the next guests, we don’t currently plan on offering single night stays (3 night stay minimum), but if you are a returning guest, need a last minute stop over for a night or two, and we aren’t booked out then give us a shout.

We don’t really want to do much cooking - is there somewhere to eat out locally?
There are lots of small restaurants within driving distance of the gîte offering a variety of dining options; but we are in the middle of rural France so don’t expect city life and all its conveniences. Details of local restaurants and menus where possible are available in the gîte. We can give you directions and book a table for you (always worth doing to make sure you get fed). However, Bonnes Routes is a home from home so you will have everything you need to make simple meals or banquets, with provisions from the local supermarkets and weekly markets.

Do you allow children or dogs to stay in the gïte?
No - unfortunately the premises are not child friendly and much as we love dogs we need to guarantee a pet-hair free environment for other guests with allergies, which is only possible if we remain dog-free.

If you have any questions not covered above, just ask via our contact form here

FAQs

Le gîte est-il réservé aux propriétaires de voitures classiques ?
Non, les clients avec des voitures de location ou des voitures « normales » sont également les bienvenus sur Bonnes Routes. Nous accueillons également des personnes sur deux roues (motorisées ou non). Les installations à notre disposition peuvent être utilisées par tout le monde, mais elles sont particulièrement destinées aux visiteurs possédant une voiture précieuse qui doivent en prendre soin en conduisant en France. Nous avons essayé de créer l’endroit idéal pour les personnes pour qui conduire est la vacance. Nous comprenons !

J’ai une voiture classique décapotable qui a connu des jours meilleurs alors elle n’est pas exactement étanche ! Puis-je me garer sous couvert ?
Notre objectif est de couvrir l'aire de stationnement en 2020 afin de renforcer la protection. Cependant, si vous devez mettre votre voiture à l'abri avant que celle-ci soit en place, nous pouvons réorganiser notre propre espace de stockage pour accueillir votre voiture dans les granges. Nous avons également des housses de voiture légères pour protéger de la poussière.

Quelles nationalités accueillez-vous ?
Tous sont les bienvenus sur Bonnes Routes, d'où qu'ils viennent. Étant un peu plus à mi-chemin sur la carte de la France, nous sommes idéalement situés pour les personnes voyageant du Royaume-Uni, des Pays-Bas, de la Belgique ou du nord de la France vers le sud de la France, ou l'Espagne ; ou d’Italie vers la côte ouest de la France (et les directions opposées). Nous parlons anglais, un français passable et, lorsque nous recevons des clients d'autres nationalités, nos amis Google et Larousse nous aideront à traduire notre guides, les instructions et d'autres informations dans d'autres langues pour les clients. Mais voyons les choses en face… les gens qui aiment les voitures et aiment conduire parlent tous la même langue !!

Pouvez-vous accueillir de plus grands groupes ?
Le gîte est conçu pour deux couples dans le confort. Il y a un lit supplémentaire dans la Chambre Panoramique, qui pourrait accueillir une ou deux autres personnes si vous êtes vraiment de bons amis. Mais comme par hasard, nous avons un voisin français qui possède un gîte (vous le passez lorsque vous arrivez à Bonhur), donc si vous êtes quelques-uns en train de voyager, vous voudrez peut-être essayer une double réservation des deux propriétés. Ils ont un parking privé et une bonne sécurité aussi. Si vous êtes intéressé par cette option, faites-le nous savoir. Nous pourrons vérifier la disponibilité et les prix.

Est-il possible d'obtenir ma voiture classique livrée par remorque et de voler plutôt que de conduire ?
Absolument. Nous pouvons retirer votre voiture lorsque cela vous convient, rangez-la dans la grange jusqu'à votre arrivée. Nous pouvons venir vous chercher à l'un des aéroports régionaux - Limoges ou Brive (les aéroports les plus proches), Bergerac ou Bordeaux.

Acceptez-vous des réservations pour moins d'une semaine ?
En raison des travaux de nettoyage des prochains clients, nous ne prévoyons pas pour l’instant d’offrir des nuitées (minimum de 3 nuits), mais si vous êtes un client de retour qui a déjà séjourné chez nous et que vous avez besoin d’une halte de dernière minute pour une nuit ou deux, s'il vous plaît demander. Si nous ne sommes pas complets, nous serons heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Nous ne voulons pas vraiment faire beaucoup de cuisine - y ât-il un restaurant en le localité ?
De nombreux petits restaurants sont accessibles en voiture depuis le gîte et offrent une variété d'options de restauration. Mais nous sommes au cœur de la France rurale, alors ne vous attendez pas à la vie citadine et à toutes ses commodités. Des informations détaillées sur les restaurants locaux sont disponibles dans le gîte. Nous pouvons vous donner les indications et réserver une table pour vous. Cependant, Bonnes Routes étant un chez-soi, vous disposerez de tout le nécessaire pour préparer des repas simples ou des banquets, avec les provisions provenant des supermarchés locaux et des marchés hebdomadaires.

Autorisez-vous des enfants ou des chiens à rester dans la gîte ?
Non, malheureusement, les locaux ne sont pas adaptés aux enfants et, bien que nous aimions les chiens, nous devons garantir aux clients souffrant d'allergies un environnement sans poils d'animaux, ce qui n'est possible que si nous restons sans chiens.

SI VOUS AVEZ DES QUESTIONS NON COUVERTES, VEUILLEZ UTILISER NOTRE FORMULAIRE DE CONTACT ICI